28 March 2014

Blog Tour and Giveaway: Third Degree by Julie Cross


Follow the Tour HERE!


Third Degree
by Julie Cross .
Audience/Genre: New Adult Contemporary Romance.
Publication: March 25th 2014 by Flirt.
Fans of Monica Murphy and Tammara Webber will savor this New Adult novel—a story about coming of age in the heat of the moment—from Julie Cross, the internationally bestselling author of the Tempest trilogy.

I used to be “Isabel Jenkins, child prodigy.” As lame as that sounds, at least it was an identity. But now I’m not sure what I am. I just failed the most important exam of my life—the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program—and it turns out my parents can’t stand each other. Now I’m trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of my life, and that means re-enrolling as a college freshman, but this time I’m shutting the books and majoring in being eighteen.

But so far, my roommate hates me and I’m not into the party scene. The only good thing about school has been getting to know my insanely hot RA. Marshall Collins makes me wonder about everything I missed while I was growing up too fast. Pretty soon we’re hanging out constantly, but for the first time, I find myself wanting more than a no-strings-attached physical relationship. And the lesson I really need is one Marsh definitely can’t teach me: love. Because I’m going to be alone forever if I don’t learn fast

Advanced Praise for Third Degree...

“With quirky characters, laugh-out-loud moments, and a touching romance, Third Degree is a refreshing entry in the New Adult genre. I can’t wait to read what Julie Cross comes up with next!”—Roni Loren, bestselling author of Need You Tonight

“I fell for quirky, brainy, socially awkward child prodigy Izzy and even more so for her sweet, compassionate, and hot RA, Marshall. I was rooting for their happily-ever-after and was sighing with satisfaction by the end.”—Christina Lee, author of the Between Breaths series

“Loved! Fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door and Tammara Webber’s Easy will fall hard for this book.”—Krista Ritchie, co-author of the Addicted to You series


Reviewed by Kelly.


I am a little biased when it comes to medicine books being a nurse in a hospital and all. I really thought this was more than an original story. It wasn’t fluff or just romance, it was more. What captured me about this book was that this 18 year old was already in medical school and was a genius. That and that the author showed how sometimes these geniuses just haven’t a good grip on socializing. That was Isabel. Because she didn’t have an emotional connection, she failed her psych testing to go on to the residency program. Now she was told to take time off and be a normal 18 year old in college. Easier said than done.

In walks, or rather outside walks Marshall, her RA on her floor of the dorms. He knows her. He knows her mom from middle school. He knows her secrets. But that doesn’t stop him from liking her and helping her succeed in her goal to get back in and go on to do surgery at John Hopkins! He helps her learn to feel and have friends. But it’s a no-no to have a relationship with your RA. But eventually, they do become involved and he switches floors so they can be together. What I like about the story is the secret that Marshall has and how it helped them connect more. How it helped her be a better doctor and person. I enjoyed Isabel’s inner working of her mind as she would realize some of the things that she had to let go of.

But, eventually, Isabel finds that sometimes feelings hurt and she runs from such a foreign and bad concept which is bad to her. It distracts her from making a diagnosis, she thinks. She says things that hurt Marshall, and in a delicate moment, he lashes out at her too. But he apologizes, but she can’t feel. She still has this misconstrued conception of life. I was at a delivery once with this Doctor who was extremely bright. I admired her, she knew everything. She was a specialist. But, I also was weary of her. She came to a delivery that was way premature. She was still in office clothes and had enough time to put on a gown and gloves. She caught the baby and then ran, in her high heels no less, to the NICU which was way across the hospital carrying that newborn in the wet and bloody blanket. I swear to you it is the truth!! She had no common sense. I still get a chuckle out of it!

Anyway, to me it was different and sweet. I loved Marshall and I thought they were great together. They both helped each other. I loved Marshall’s family. I loved Isabel’s family even though they had some issues to work out.
.






a Rafflecopter

giveaway





Julie Cross lives in Central Illinois with her husband and three children. She’s a former gymnast, longtime gymnastics fan, coach, and former gymnastics program director with the YMCA. She’s a lover of books, devouring several novels a week, especially in the young adult and New Adult genres. She’s also a committed (but not talented) long-distance runner, creator of imaginary beach vacations, Midwest bipolar weather survivor, expired CPR certification card holder, as well as a ponytail and gym shoe addict.





Buy The Book :

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

Find The Author :

Goodreads | Website | Twitter


2 comments:

  1. Thank you for your thoughts on THIRD DEGREE Kelly! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. :)

    ReplyDelete

  2. Thanks for sharing this wonderful post, It is awesome.

    ReplyDelete