26 June 2013

How do you decide what to read next?

I have a question?

When your tbr list gets too big and you want to read every book you see, what do you do? How do you choose what books have to sit on the back burner for a while? I have so many books that I need to read right now and I am gonna go crazy!

I have like 50 books at home awaiting me to read them. I want to read them all, I really do. But, I have to be honest, I don't have all day to read. I have a job, kids, a husband (who would read one of my books just to get into a conversation with me) and a house to clean and other things to do and friends as well.

So tell me; how do you arrange your reading besides your favorite authors or series first. I need help!

Kelly

14 comments:

  1. When it was just reading for pleasure, with absolutely no obligations, I read whatever I wanted next. I know, vague answer, right? But it was that simple, the book that called my attention the most was what I went with. If there were several, then I'd read the first few pages and whatever I got into the most was what I went with.

    Now, however, since I've been getting eARCs/digital review copies, I had to make a list of all the books I'm obligated to read, organized by release dates, and I read whatever is next on that list. It means less spontaneity, but it's more efficient for getting through the read to review list!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks. I like lists. I think I will do this!

      Delete
  2. This is probably stupid but that's what I do: you know that on Goodreads, on your TBD pile, there are numbers to list the ones you have added first.. well I just use random.org to select a number and then I search for the same number on my Goodreads TBD pile ^^

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. That's so funny! I gotta do that when I am ready to pull my hair out!

      Delete
  3. Even though I blog, I am still very much a mood reader. I'll go through spurts where I will only read review books and in order of publication (just went through a period of that) or will read the ones I've had the longest. But I'm currently in a "I want to read one of the books I spent years acquiring" mode, so I'm choosing whatever I want out of my personal, purchased/gifted/swapped stash.

    Other times I'll have a very specific idea of what I want to read, like "I want to read a YA fantasy with princesses" or something like that. And then I think over what I own, and find one that fits.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know what you mean. I do do that alot! Thanks!!

      Delete
  4. I wrote down all the books I have yet to read on scraps of paper, folded them all up, and tossed them in a lidded box. Now, anytime I'm not in the mood for something specific, I pop open the lid and pick one at random. It works out pretty well 99% of the time. But if I'm in the mood for something specific, I figure out what genre I'm wanting, then "eeny meeny miney mo" the books I have within that genre :P I'm very much a random reader.

    ReplyDelete
  5. When I don't know what I'm in the mood for, I do one of two things. If it's print books on the shelf in my bedroom, I'll either close my eyes and grab one, or start at the top and work down. If it's e-books, I set my "to read" folder on "recent" and go to the end of the list and read the oldest book. Sometimes it doesn't work and I try something else, which can get me going on three or four books at the same time!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh my gosh! You all are so helpful.I feel better knowing other people go thru the same thing figuring out what book to read next. Thanks!

      Delete
  6. I know how you feel. This is a tough one. Read what you feel like reading. It's much more fun that way. Have a few back up options if you start to get bored or the pacing get slow and come back to the original later. From time to time you may bump up the popular books to the top of your list. That will happen a lot. It's hard to find time to read with life going on so my best advice is go at your own pace. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks.I like the back up options!!

      Delete
  7. I'm a top of the pile down type of girl

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. HaHa HaHAHA! Gotta love it! Thanks!!!

      Delete