25 January 2013

Rage Within (Dark Inside #2) by Jeyn Roberts

Rage Within (Dark Inside #2) by Jeyn Roberts.
Audience/Genre : Young Adult/Dystopia.
Publication : August 30th 2012 by Macmillan Children's Books.
After the earthquakes came the infectious rage, turning friends into deadly enemies. For survivors Michael, Aries, Mason and Clementine the battle to stay alive is about to get even tougher. The new world is organising itself, with camps that promise protection for the uninfected. But the reality of the sites is far more sinister. Besides, nobody is safe from the rage within their own soul...

Reviewed by Priya.

Rage Within was an exercise in pain. At one hand, I couldn't wait to find out what happens next. But how to deal with this awesome book slowly coming to an end? It was hard. I couldn't find it in me to stop since Jeyn Roberts always left me wanting for more. It had been painful. Extremely painful. Because on the other hand, I had to watch characters I had come to love go through so much. Jeyn Roberts has been merciless. And that is exactly why I love this book. It is a conjunction of such strong emotions that it leaves you jarred. Pretty much like a jump in icy cold water, leaving you feeling both shaken and numb.

When I started Rage Within, I was afraid that it won't be able to pull me in like Dark Inside did. While Dark Inside had shown the beginnings of a hopeless world being ravaged by darkness and death, I had feared its sequel won't be able to provide anything new as sequels usually are not-so-original anymore and tend to be disappointing. But I was wrong. Not only did Rage Within continue the story with the same breathtaking pace and plot, it also took it to another level. But, sadly, this book was not as much creepy and intensely breaking as Dark Inside was. And I believe it was mostly because when I started Rage Within, I was pretty much set to the distressing, hopeless tone that this series is set on. Yet, the story was compelling and difficult to keep down. The characters were no longer trying to survive, but were fighting back too.

As in Dark Inside, I loved Aries, Mason and Daniel in Rage Within as well. The direction their lives and relationship with each other took was more than I could ask for my fangirling side. Though Jeyn Roberts has an army for supporting characters, all of them are unique with their own personalities and voices and none of them are a least bit forgettable. Nothing and his infinite wisdom were the star of the show all over again. And I still strongly believe that Daniel is Nothing.

Mind you, this book is neither for those who are faint- or soft-hearted nor for those who prefer their characters perfectly flawless, extremely selfless, annoyingly unreal and one-faceted. The characters in this book are raw and real, they make mistakes and they regret it, they fight and sometimes they lose. Sometimes they give up and they are always changed.

There is no official news of a third book in the series as of yet, but Jeyn Roberts did mention of there being one. That is good enough for me put on my "This Fangirl Awaits" cap and well, wait.

“Some things you can't take back. Some things take you farther into the darkness.”

Buy The Book :

Goodreads | Amazon | The Book Depository

Find The Author :

Goodreads | Website | Twitter | Blog | Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment