09 March 2012

Glow by Jessica Maria Tuccelli

Glow by Jessica Maria Tuccelli.
Genre : Historical Fiction.
Published on : March 15th, 2012 by Penguin Group, USA.

Goodreads|Amazon|The Book Depository

A breathtaking Georgia-mountain epic about the complex bond of mothers and daughters across a century.

In the autumn of 1941, Amelia J. McGee, a young woman of Cherokee and Scotch-Irish descent, and an outspoken pamphleteer for the NAACP, hastily sends her daughter, Ella, alone on a bus home to Georgia in the middle of the night-a desperate action that is met with dire consequences when the child encounters two drifters and is left for dead on the side of the road.

Ella awakens to find herself in the homestead of Willie Mae Cotton, a wise hoodoo practitioner and former slave, and her partner, Mary-Mary Freeborn, tucked deep in the Takatoka forest. As Ella begins to heal, the legacies of her lineage are revealed.

"Glow" transports us from Washington, D.C., on the brink of World War II to 1836 and into the mountain coves of Hopewell County, Georgia, full of ghosts both real and imagined. Illuminating the tragedy of human frailty, the power of friendship and hope, and the fiercest of all human bonds-mother love-this stunning debut will appeal to readers of both Sue Monk Kidd's "The Secret Life of Bees" and Amy Green's "Bloodroot."


Review.


GlowGlow by Jessica Maria Tuccelli

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Lately all I've been reading are YA books and it was awesome to read an excellent work of literature for a change. In school, history class was story time . It was all a story to me but really, all that stuff we've read about, they really happened. The good, yes, but also the bad. Hitler, Racism, Inequality and Discrimination (of any kind) - they're all real. Sometimes I read so much that I forget that fiction has some truth in it. Cruelty is real. At least as much as the good stuff is.

When I started reading Glow, I honestly went in with no expectations, no clue of what the book was going to be about, only that it was different from my usual read. The book is written from several character's perspectives, each of them with their own story. However, as you keep reading, everything falls into place beautifully. It's funny how all the characters were so different and yet so closely linked together.

Jessica Tuccelli has written a book that explores a range of emotions and pulled off a tough work of fiction. Glow focuses the issue of racial discrimination faced by the Indians belonging to the region of Georgia due to the continued growth of white population. We see the strength of love, friendship, family and hope when everything bad gets thrown your way.

I can't express how much I loved Tuccelli's writing - her descriptions are extremely vivid.

More than anything, her writing makes you feel and think. All I can say is that Glow was wonderful.

View all my reviews


1 comment:

  1. I love historical fiction but i steer clear of any stories set around the WW, it scares me lol.

    ReplyDelete